Abia State University Uturu (ABSU) is a Nigerian public university. It is one of the state-owned universities in Nigeria. These state academic institutions were created to expand admissions and bring professional skills, expertise, and modern research facilities close to the city and rural dwellers, and have helped talented students to obtain higher education.

The inception of the university was in 1981 in the former Imo State under the name of Imo State University, Etiti. The university was established by Sam Mbakwe when he was governor of old Imo State. The main campus was at Etiti, Imo State, while the Law Department was in a separate Campus at Aba. Between 1984 and 1985 under the military governorship of General Ike Nwachukwu, the university moved to its permanent site at Uturu Okigwe.

Following the creation of Abia State in 1991, the Uturu campus of the university was ceded to Abia State and is now known as Abia State University Uturu, Isuikwuato Local Government Area, Abia State, Nigeria. The university is organized in colleges and schools founded on the same collegiate system that the University of Nebraska operates.

Studies at Abia State University include undergraduate, graduate, and doctorate degrees. It has two campuses: its main campus in Uturu; and the College of Law, College of Agriculture, and College of Veterinary Medicine, all housed at the campus in Umuahia, capital of Abia State, Nigeria.


Our motto is Excellence and Service.


To strengthen the fabrics of the existing traditional administrative organs of the institution through a disposition of accountability, transparency, probity, and prudence in fiscal conduct, system discipline derived from staff commitment to duty which will guarantee a congenial atmosphere to promote teaching and learning, capacity building and intellectual harvest that will enhance the national and international reputation and ranking of our Institution.


Abia State University offers more than 90 undergraduate and graduate programs across ten colleges.

  • College of Humanities and Social Sciences
  • College of Agriculture and Veterinary Medicine
  • College of Biological and Physical Sciences
  • College of Business Administration
  • College of Education
  • College of Engineering and Environmental Studies
  • College of Law
  • College of Medicine and Health Sciences
  • College of Optometry
  • College of Postgraduate Studies
  • Centers, Directorates, and Institutes

Centers, Directorates, and Institutes

  • Centre For Entrepreneurial Education
  • Student Affairs Department
  • Counseling Centre
  • Centre for Primary and Non-Formal Education
  • General Studies
  • Centre for Igbo Studies
  • Academic Planning
  • Sandwich Programme
  • Centre for Remedial Studies
  • University Examination Centre
  • Business Resource Centre
  • Institute for Distance Education (IDEA)
  • Institute for Computer Studies
  • Consultancies, Linkages & Revenue Mobilization
  • Institute of Arts & Sciences
  • Centre for Quality Assurance