Afe Babalola University (ABUAD) is a private university located in Ado-Ekiti, Ekiti State, Nigeria. It was founded by a lawyer and philanthropist, Afe Babalola, in 2009. Afe Babalola University offers Academic programs in six Colleges: Sciences, Law, Engineering, Social and Management Sciences, Medicine and Health Sciences, and Postgraduate Studies. The Engineering College is built on three and a half acres of land and is reputed to be one of the largest in Africa. The college was inaugurated by former President Goodluck Jonathan.


The university has one main campus which is located in Ado-Ekiti, Ekiti State, Nigeria. The campus is situated in the hilly part of the town directly opposite the Federal Polytechnic Ado-Ekiti. The campuses house 5 undergraduate colleges, a postgraduate school, conference halls, a teaching hospital for medical students, student and staff accommodation, a sporting facility, and other auxiliary services such as a cafeteria for staff and students, a laundry, a bakery, and a water processing plant. The Afe Babalola University holds a reputation for being one of the few Nigerian universities to begin academic works on the campus permanent site. However, due to the requirement by the National University Commission that the school must possess a functioning teaching hospital, a memorandum of understanding with the Nigerian federal government was signed to make use of the Federal Medical Center (FMC) Ido-Ekiti, Ekiti State as its teaching hospital for a period of ten years beginning from October 2014.

Academic Programs

  • Eng. Mechanical Engineering
  • Eng. Mechatronic Engineering
  • Eng. Electrical/Electronic Engineering
  • Eng. Petroleum Engineering
  • Eng. Civil Engineering
  • Eng. Chemical Engineering
  • Eng. Computer Engineering
  • Eng. Agricultural Engineering
  • Eng. Biomedical Engineering
  • Eng. Aeronautical and Astronautical Engineering
  • Sc. Microbiology
  • Sc. Human Biology
  • Sc. Biotechnology
  • Sc. Biochemistry
  • Sc. Chemistry
  • Sc. Industrial Chemistry
  • Sc. Computer Science
  • Sc. Geology.
  • Sc. Physics with Electronics
  • Sc. Physics
  • Sc. Petroleum Chemistry
  • Arch Architecture
  • Economics
  • Accounting
  • Banking and Finance
  • Business Administration
  • Tourism and Events Management.
  • Political Science
  • International Relations and Diplomacy
  • Peace and Conflict Studies
  • Intelligence and Security Studies
  • Social Justice
  • Communication and Media Studies
  • Marketing
  • Entrepreneurship
  • Sociology
  • Medicine and Surgery (M.B.B.S)
  • NSc. Nursing Sciences
  • MLS. Medical Laboratory Science
  • Sc. Anatomy
  • Sc. Physiology
  • Sc. Human Nutrition and Dietetics
  • Sc. Pharmacology
  • Sc. Public Health
  • D Pharmacy
  • DS. Dentistry
  • Optometry
  • A. Performing Arts
  • A. English
  • A. History and International Studies
  • A. Linguistics
  • Agric. Animal Science
  • Agric. Agricultural Economics
  • Agric. Extension Education
  • Agric. Crop Science
  • Agric. Soil Science

Postgraduate College

The university operates a collegiate system and has five major Postgraduate colleges. They are the College of Engineering, College of Medicine and Health Sciences, College of Sciences, College of Law, and College of Social and Management Sciences.