Akwa Ibom State Polytechnic is a tertiary learning institution in Ikot Osurua, Ikot Ekpene, Akwa Ibom State, Nigeria. It was founded in 1991. The institution is accredited by the National Board for Technical Education (NBTE) with the mandate to provide access to education in technology and commerce.

And also The polytechnic is owned by Akwa Ibom State. In 2019, the Governor of the State promised to give the institution a grant of One hundred million naira to ensure that all the courses they offer are fully accredited.


The polytechnic runs various courses under schools/faculties such as Applied Sciences, Communication Arts, Preliminary Studies, Business and Management, Engineering, Environmental Studies and Legal Studies.

School of Applied Sciences

  • Department of Computer Science
  • Department of Hotel and Catering Management
  • Department of Science Technology
  • Department of Statistics

School of Business Management

  • Department of Accountancy
  • Department of Business Administration
  • Department of Office Technology & Management
  • Department of Marketing
  • Department of Public Administration
  • Department of Legal Studies

School of Communication Arts

  • Department of Arts and Design
  • Department of General Studies
  • Department of Mass Communication

School of Engineering

  • Department of Civil Engineering
  • Department of Electrical/ Electronic Engineering
  • Department of Mechanical Engineering

School of environmental Studies

  • Department of Architecture
  • Department of Building Technology
  • Department of Estate Management
  • Department of Surveying and Geo-Informatics
  • Department of Quantity Surveying
  • Department of urban and regional planning