Auchi Polytechnic is a Federal Polytechnic in Auchi, Edo State, Nigeria. It is one of the first four Polytechnics established in Nigeria. It has over 10,000 students enrolled in business, technology, environmental, and arts courses.


Auchi Polytechnic was founded in 1963, first as a technical college, which was a gift of the British government to the then Midwestern Region. It offered courses only up to the Ordinary Diploma level in limited areas of engineering and business. By the seventies, there was a need for skilled manpower at a higher level and in many more disciplines. Thus in 1973, the Bendel State Government upgraded the technical college to a full-fledged polytechnic with the mandate to train skilled manpower up to the Higher National Diploma level in a broad range of engineering, science, environmental studies, business studies, and art and design.

The existing law establishing it assigned to the institution the task of producing well-trained and highly skilled middle-level manpower for the national economy in the areas of engineering, applied sciences and technology, environmental studies, management studies, and art and industrial design. In 1994, the Federal Government took over the polytechnic from the Edo State Government.


School of Applied Science & Technology (SAST)

  • Department of Food Technology
  • Department of Hospitality Management
  • Department of Science Laboratory
  • Department of Ceramic Technology
  • Department of Science Laboratory Technology

School of Art and Industrial Design (SAID)

  • Department of Graphics & Textile
  • Department of Painting & General Arts
  • Department of Sculpture & Ceramics

School of Business Studies (SBS)

  • Department of Accountancy
  • Department of Banking & Finance
  • Department of Business Administration & Management
  • Department of Marketing
  • Department of Public Administration

School of Engineering Technology (SENG)

  • Department of Agricultural Engineering
  • Department of Chemical Engineering Technology
  • Department of Civil Engineering
  • Department of Electrical/Electronics Engineering
  • Department of Mechanical Engineering
  • Department of Polymer Technology

School of Environmental Studies (SENV)

  • Department of Architectural Technology
  • Department of Building Technology
  • Department of Estate Management
  • Department of Quantity Surveying
  • Department of Survey & Geo-informatics
  • Department of Urban & Regional Planning

School of Information & Communication Technology (SICT)

  • Department of Computer Science
  • Department of Mass Communication
  • Department of Office Technology & Management
  • Department of Statistics

School of General Studies (This is a servicing school; it has no students of its own.)


To offer training in skills and knowledge in science, technology, and the Arts for the use of the brain, mind, and hands for promoting self-reliance, technological advancement, and sustainable National Development.


Educational training that imparts scientific and technological skills so as to imbue its graduates with the essence and attributes of Self-realization, Self-reliance, self-employment, and national consciousness