The Polytechnic started skeletal work in May 1979.  However, academic activities actually took off on 22nd November 1979 with an initial student population of 245 registered in eleven departments.  Apart from those admitted for the introductory course, all the other students were admitted for the 4-year Nigerian National Diploma (NND) Programme.

The Polytechnic started with an initial staff strength of 138 comprising 45 and 93 senior and junior staff respectively.
The first Governing Council of the Polytechnic under the Chairmanship of Alhaji Y.A. Olatunji was appointed in February 1981.

The Polytechnic administrative departments were located in two buildings along Yandoka Road while a part of the Bauchi Teachers College now General Hassan Usman Katsina Unity College was offered by the Bauchi State Government for use of the Polytechnic as students hostels, cafeteria, lecture rooms, typing studio, library and medical centre.  In 1980, when the Bauchi State Government decided to establish an Advanced Teachers College now College of Education, Azare, in Bauchi Metropolis, the Polytechnic vacated the Unity College to its permanent Site. Consequently, some houses were rented along Ran Road in downtown Bauchi and used for academic activities.  Some other rented buildings were used as female hostels in Yelwa village while the male hostels were located along Maiduguri Road, near Gubi Dam Road junction.

From the inception of the Polytechnic, the idea of establishing a demonstration farm for the Department of Agricultural Engineering was nurtured.  Consequently, a road camp situated at Wailo, about 60 kilometres from the Bauchi metropolis used by the Societies General Enterprises Nigeria (SGEN), company.

The pioneer principal officers who managed the affairs of the Polytechnic were:

Engr. M.O. Anyiam – Rector
Mr. Duro Orisanaiye – Deputy Registrar
Mr. D.G. Sangal – Principal Librarian
Mr. Ozo Nebo – Senior Accountant
Prof. J.F. Lemen – Dean Sch. Of Technology
Mr. E.M.O. Alaiyemola – Ag. Dean School Of Business Studies
Mr. A.M. Chandry – Dean School Of Engineering Technology
Mission Statement
To Train Students To Become Professionally Skilled, Morally Sound, Enterprising, And Committed To The Development Of Our Local Environment.

Vision Statement

To Contribute Optimally To The Technological Development Of Nigeria Through Training Of Human Resources In The Application Of Science, Engineering, And Commerce.


  • The Institution Offers The Following Courses:
  • Accountancy
  • Agricultural and Environmental Engineering Technology
  • Agricultural Technology
  • Animal Health and Production Technology
  • Architectural Technology
  • Banking and Finance
  • Building Technology
  • Business Administration and Management
  • Chemical Engineering Technology
  • Computer Science
  • Electrical/Electronic Engineering
  • Estate Management and Valuation
  • Food Technology
  • Hospitality Management
  • Leisure and Tourism Management
  • Mass Communication
  • Mechanical Engineering Technology
  • Office Technology and Management
  • Public Administration
  • Quantity Surveying
  • Science Laboratory Technology


  • Surveying and Geo-Informatics