The Federal University Lokoja was established along with eight (8) other new Federal universities on the 16th of February 2011 following a pronouncement by former President Goodluck Ebele Jonathan. The aim was not only to accelerate equitable access to higher education in Nigeria but also to build institutions that can support Nigeria’s drive for rapid development through the availability of quality manpower and a knowledge base to drive competitiveness.

Soon afterwards, the pioneer Vice-Chancellor and Registrar in the persons of Professor Abdulmumini Hassan Rafindadi and Mrs. Habiba Anavoza Adeiza were appointed respectively. The current and third Vice-Chancellor of the University is Professor Olayemi Akinwumi, a historian and astute scholar of international repute who assumed office on 15th February 2021, while the current Registrar is Dr. (Mrs) Rebecca Aimiohu Okojie – a seasoned administrator.

The University is situated in Lokoja, the capital and confluence city of Kogi State, Nigeria (where the two (2) great rivers Niger and Benue meet) in the North Central political zone. Lokoja is a city drenched in history being the first settlement of the British in Nigeria.

FUL operates two campuses with the main campus (Permanent Site) located along Lokoja-Okene expressway, Felele, Lokoja; while the College of Health Sciences (Adankolo Campus) is located behind the Kogi State Specialist Hospital, Lokoja, Kogi State, Nigeria. The University’s Liaison Office is located at No. 20 Mamman Kotangora Crescent, Katampe, Abuja (Federal Capital Territory of Nigeria).


To be the best among the nine newly established Federal universities in Nigeria in 2011 and one of the top ten ranking universities in Africa.


To train employable graduates through competency-based teaching, applied research and practical community service to the catchment area, Africa and the world.



  • English Language and Literary Studies
  • History and International Studies
  • Economics
  • Political Science
  • Geography


  • Biological Science
  • Chemistry
  • Mathematics
  • Computer Science
  • Physics
  • Geology

Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences

Department of English and Literary Studies
  • B.A. (Hons) English
  • B.A. (Hons) English Literary Studies
  • B.A. (Hons) Theatre and Performing Arts
Department of History and International Studies
  • B.A. (Hons) History
Department of Political Science
  • B.Sc. (Hons) Political Science
Department of Economics
  • B.Sc. (Hons) Economics
Department of Geography
  • B.Sc. (Hons) Geography

Faculty of Science

Department of Biological Sciences
  • B.Sc. (Hons) Biology
  • B.Sc. (Hons) Botany
  • B.Sc. (Hons) Zoology
  • B.Sc. (Hons) Microbiology
Department of Chemistry
  • B.Sc. (Hons) Chemistry
Department of Physics
  • B.Sc. (Hons) Physics
  • Department of Geology
  • B.Sc. (Hons) Geology
Department of Geography
  • B.Sc. (Hons) Geography
Department of Computer Science
  • B.Sc. (Hons) Computer Science
  • Department of Mathematics
  • B.Sc. (Hons) Mathematics