The Federal University of Petroleum Resources, Effurun (FUPRE), Delta State, Nigeria was established in March 2007 under a Federal Government of Nigeria initiative to build a specialized University to produce unique high level manpower and relevant expertise for the Oil & Gas sector in Nigeria and worldwide.

At first, it occupied the PTI Conference centre, Effurun Delta state, which is few kilometres away from the permanent site. The new site covered large hectares of land generously leased by the chiefs and people of Uviwe kingdom.

FUPRE is the first of its kind in Africa and it is destined to be the premier international institution-of-choice with the state-of-the-art facilities to provide the petroleum and allied sectors, world class education, training, research, consultancy and extension services.

FUPRE organise its academic activities along college lines. Under this arrangement, related Departments are  grouped to form a College without an intervening tier of faculties.

Colleges are by no means self-sufficient as the University encourage inter-disciplinary approach to all its teaching and research activities.

The foundational College of the University was College of science with 113 foundation students. The foundation students began their courses at FUPRE, on May, 2007.

The College not only enrolls its own students but serves as support for other colleges to be established. The General Studies and Entrepreneurship Unit was also established in the College to coordinate all programmes of the University aiming at producing rounded graduates with entrepreneurial skills.

Administrative structure

  • Chancellor
  • Pro chancellor
  • Vice Chancellor
  • Principal Officers of the University
  • Members of the Governing Council
  • Centres and administrative departments/units

Administrative Departments/Units

  • Information and Communication Technology
  • Counselling Centre
  • Academic Planning Unit


  • Centre for Maritime and Offshore Studies
  • Centre for Safety Education
  • Centre for Research Innovation Colleges


  • College of Science
  • College of Technology
  • The College of Science and College of Technology has started running its courses for its academic session.

College Of Science

  • Computer Science
  • Chemistry
  • Industrial Chemistry
  • Physics
  • Geology
  • Geophysics
  • Mathematics
  • Science Laboratory Technology
  • Statistics
  • Environmental Management and Toxicology

College Of Technology

  • Petroleum Engineering
  • Marine Engineering
  • Electrical/Electronics Engineering
  • Chemical Engineering
  • Mechanical Engineering
  • Petrochemical Engineering
  • Petroleum and Natural Gas Engineering
  • Civil Engineering
  • Computer Engineering


  • College of Basic studies and Foundation Programme
  • Centre for Safety Education
  • Centre for Maritime and Offshore studies