The Federal University of Technology, Minna is a Federal Government owned University in Nigeria. It was established on 1st February, 1983. The objective for its establishment is to give effect to the Nation’s drive for the much-needed self-reliance in Science, Engineering and especially Technology. It is a specialized University of Technology.

The pioneer Vice-Chancellor was Professor J.O. Ndagi who served from 1983 to 1990. He was succeeded by Professor S.O. Adeyemi from 1990 to 1994. Between 1994 and 1997, Professor I.H. Umar served as Sole Administrator. Professor S.A. Garba was briefly acting Vice-Chancellor between 26th June and 6th August, 1997. On 7th August, 1997 Prof. M.A. Daniyan became the third substantive Vice-Chancellor of the University till 6th August, 2002. Prof. J.O. Adeniyi served from 7th August to 2nd October, 2002 as acting Vice Chancellor. On 3rd October, 2002 Prof. H. Tukur Sa’ad assumed duty Vice-Chancellor, serving till 27th October, 2007. He was succeeded by Prof. M.S. Audu on 26th November, 2007 who was on the saddle till 26th November, 2012. Prof. Musbau Adewumi Akanji, the 6th substantive Vice-Chancellor of the University was appointed on 3rd of December, 2012 and he completed his tenure on 2nd December, 2017.  The seventh substantive Vice-Chancellor, Prof. Abdullahi Bala assumed duty on December 3, 2017 and he completed his tenure on 2nd December, 2022.  The current Vice-Chancellor, Prof. Faruk Adamu Kuta is the eight substantive Vice-Chancellor of the University. He assumed duty on December 3, 2022.

The pioneer Registrar was late Dr. B.P. Sawa who served from 1983 to 1986. Dr Bawa Salka was acting Registrar between 1986 and 1988. Then Mrs. L.S.J. Ahmed became the Registrar of the University between 1988 and 1993. She was succeeded by Alhaji U.A. Sadiq who served from October, 1998 – 2003, having acted in that position since 1993. Mallam M.D. Usman was appointed on 1st October, 2007, after overseeing the office in acting capacity since 2003. He was succeeded by Mrs V. N Kolo on 11th June, 2012. She served out her 5-year term and got a one year extension. The current Registrar, Mr. A.N. Kolo, came into office on 12th June, 2018.

At inception, the University acquired on a permanent basis, the facilities of the former Government Teachers’ College, Bosso which now serves as the Bosso Campus of the University. It has undergone a tremendous. face-lift and wears a beautiful outlook befitting a modern university. The University acquired 10,650 hectares of land at Gidan-Kwano, along the Minna – Kataeregi – Bida Road as its permanent site, to carter for the inevitable expansion envisaged.

On Tuesday, June, 2nd 1992 the former President and Commander-in-Chief of the Armed Forces, Federal Republic of Nigeria, General Ibrahim Badamasi Babangida GCFR, fss, mni (rtd), performed the Sod Turning Ceremony to mark the commencement of projects on the main campus site.
And since then work had started in earnest for the physical development of the Main Campus which in phase I consists of the School of Agriculture and Agricultural Technology (SAAT), School of Environmental Technology (SET), School of Engineering and Engineering Technology (SEET) Buildings, Students Hostels, Students Center, University Library, Senate Building, Staff houses, Computer Centre as well as the Industrial Development Centre.

The completion of students’ hostels, some staff houses, SET and SEET buildings facilitated the commencement of full academic activities in the Main Campus at the beginning of the 2004/2005 academic session. Meanwhile, SAAT which was temporarily occupying a part of the SEET Complex has been successfully completed and moved in 2009.

Since its inception, the University has graduated students, whose market value is being adjudged very satisfactory and are in high demand both in government and industry, servicing the technological needs of the nation. The figure showed a remarkable growth rate from 22 graduates in 1990, to 662 in 1998 and total students enrolments are now over 13,000 with academic staff strength of 698 as at 1st January, 2009.

The University has recorded quite a number of academic achievements which, include the design and fabrication of a number of highly valuable items of socio-economic importance such as the Solar air heater, Motor-car crankshaft, Gearing system for crane hoist drives, Rice de-stoning machine, Maize sheller, Multi-purpose grinder, Irrigation models, Poultry feeder amongst a host of other creative innovations. It is equally gratifying to note that the University has gained recognition nationwide as a Centre for Excellence in Computer Science having been so designated by the National Universities Commission. In pursuit of this, the University obtained Internet connectivity towards the end of 1998, acquired its VSAT facility in 2003, and by 2005/2006 academic session students’ registration was conducted on-line. Now the members of the University Community can easily access information the World over on the super highway.

In pursuance of academic excellence in solving human problems, Professor S.A. Garba of the Department of Microbiology led a team of researchers in the development and production of typhoid fever vaccines. This project is sponsored by the Unipetrol Nigeria Plc. The team has been able to develop and produce typhoid fever vaccines. And having completed the testing on mice, guinea pigs, rabbits and monkeys, the Vaccine was tested on humans with amazing success. The new vaccine would soon b e made available to the global market after further due process.

Our Mission

To become a world class and Nigeria’s leading University recognized for it s excellence in capacity building and service delivery.

Our Vision

Committed to the training of skilled and innovative work-force that would transform Nigeria’s natural resources into goods and services driven by entrepreneurship and Information and Communication Technology (ICT), to positively affect the economy and thus the quality of life of her people.


  • School of Agriculture and Agriculture Technology.
  • School of Electrical Engineering and Technology.
  • School of Infrastructure, Process Engineering and Technology.
  • School of Innovative Technology. Formerly, School of Entrepreneurship and Management Technology.
  • School of Environmental Technology
  •  School of Life Sciences.
  •  School of Physical Sciences.
  • School of Information and Communication Technology
  •  School of Science and Technology Education.
  • School of Post Graduate Studies.


  • Centre for preliminary and Extra Mural Studies (CPES)
  • Centre of Excellence in Disaster Risk Management and Developmental Studies, operated by the National Emergency Management Agency (NEMA).
  • Centre for Climate Change and Freshwater Resources, which is associated to the Federal Ministry of Environment, a node of the Global Institute for Bio Exploration (Rutgers University, NJ, USA)
  • Centre for Human Settlements and Urban Development (CHSUD) associated with the UN Human Settlements programme.
  • Directorate of Research and Development (DRID).
  • Centre for Genetic Engineering and Biotechnology (CGEB).
  • Centre for Open Distance and e-Learning (CODeL)
  • West African Service Centre on Climate Change and Adapter Land Use (WASCAL).
  • Africa Centre of Excellence for Mycotoxin and Food Safety


Federal College of Education (Technical) Akoka, Lagos State, Nigeria Federal Polytechnic Offa, Kwara State, Nigeria.