The University is located at Sangere, a Village in Girei Local Government Area of Adamawa State, and some 10km from Jimeta. In 1980 the Federal Government in response to the nationally acclaimed need for skilled, innovative and technologically oriented high-level manpower required to develop and nurture a technology based economy and society established seven new Universities of Technology. Federal University of Technology, Yola, along with those of Abeokuta, Akure, Bauchi, Makurdi, Minna and Owerri, came into being in 1981. This University admitted its first batch of students (214 numbers) in the 1982/83 academic session. The Current population of regular undergraduates is 14600.

The University had barely taken off when the succeeding Military Government abolished four of the seven new Universities of Technology and merged them with older Universities in October, 1984. Federal University of Technology, Yola was merged with University of Maiduguri and became known as Modibbo Adama College of the University of Maiduguri. Four years later, on 1st January 1988 the University was granted its former name and full autonomy as the Federal University of Technology, Yola. A substantive Vice-Chancellor was therefore appointed to run the affairs of the University.

The University from inception has run the School system of Administration with two Schools, the School of Science and Technology Education and the School of Management Sciences. Presently, the University has six Schools, namely, the School of Agriculture and Agricultural Technology, Engineering and Engineering Technology, Environmental Sciences, Management and Information Technology, Pure and Applied Sciences and Technology and Science Education.The then President, Dr. Goodluck Ebele Jonathan, GCFR, approved the change of name of the University from: Federal University of Technology, Yola (FUT,Yola) To Modibbo Adama University of Technology, Yola (MAUTECH,Yola), supposedly named after Modibbo Adama Ibn Hassan(1809-1847), a great scholar, an erudite educationist, an outstanding leader and the founder of the Fombina Kingdom (The Present Adamawa Emirate).

As the first ruler and founder of the Emirate, Modibbo Adama Ibn Hassan was one of the disciples and flag bearers of Sheikh Usman Ibn Fodio of the Sokoto Caliphate. The new name took effect from 1st October, 2011. Subsequently, President Muhammadu Buhari assented to the Modibbo Adama University Yola establishment bill on the 6th of January 2021.


To be a leading center for advanced research that will spear-head ground-breaking novel scientific and technological discoveries and innovations for an all-encompassing national development.
To provide a multidisciplinary, multifaceted and inclusive approach to advanced research for the attainment of highest research potentials in science and technology for a knowledge- driven socio-economic and capital development of the nation.



  • Accounting
  • Banking and Finance
  • Business Management
  • Management
  • Information Management Technology


  • Agricultural Education
  • Biology Education
  • Business Education
  • Chemistry Education
  • Construction Technology Education
  • Electrical and Electronics Technology Education
  • Geography Education
  • Home Economics
  • Mathematics Education
  • Mechanical Technology Education
  • Physics Education
  • Statistics Education


  • Biochemistry
  • Botany
  • Computer Science
  • Industrial Chemistry
  • Geology
  • Mathematics
  • Physics
  • Microbiology
  • Pure Chemistry
  • Statistics
  • Mathematics with Economics
  • Zoology
  • Biotechnology


  • Agriculture
  • Forestry and Wildlife Management
  • Fisheries
  • Soil Science


  • Architecture
  • Building
  • Industrial Design
  • Surveying and Geo-Informatics
  • Urban and Regional Planning


  • Economics
  • Operations Research
  • Geography


  • Agricultural Engineering
  • Chemical Engineering
  • Civil Engineering
  • Electrical and Electronic Engineering
  • Food Science Technology
  • Mechanical Engineering
  • Information Technology