Historical Development

NASARAWA STATE UNIVERSITY, KEFFI, Was established under Nasarawa State Law No. 2 of 2001 (see 2.2) as passed by the State House of Assembly. The University came into existence under the visionary and dynamic administration of the Governor. (Dr) Abdullahi Adamu (Sarkin Yakin Keffi, Aare Obateru of the source, Ile-Ife), the first democratically elected Governor of Nasarawa State.

The aim of establishing the University was, fundamentally, to provide an avenue for the indigenes of Nasarawa State to pursue and acquire a University education, which in the long run, will prepare the graduates and equip them with adequate skills needed for the development of the state and the country at large. Consequently, Governor Adamu was then “propelled by the burning desire to proffer a solution to the subsisting problem of grave dearth in the supply of human endeavor that confronts our young state”.

Faculties and Departments

Main campus (Keffi)

Faculty of Administration
• Business Administration
• Public Administration
• Accounting
• Banking and Finance
• Taxation
• Entrepreneurial Studies

Faculty of Arts

• History
• English Language
• Linguistic
• Religious Studies
• French Language
• Arabic Language
• Theater and Cultural Studies

Faculty of Social Sciences

• Mass Communication
• Political Science
• Economics
• Sociology
• Psychology

Faculty of Natural and Applied Sciences

• Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
• Physics
• Biological Sciences
• Chemistry
• Geology and Mining
• Mathematical Sciences

Faculty of Education

• Arts and Social Sciences
• Educational Foundation
• Science Technology and Mathematics
• Special Education

Faculty of Law

• Private and Business Law
• Public and International Law

Faculty of Environmental Science

• Geography
• Urban and Regional Planning
• Environmental Management
• Architecture

Lafia Campus
Faculty of Agriculture

• Agronomy
• Agricultural Economics and Extension
• Animal Science
• Home Science and Management
• Forestry and Wildlife
• Fisheries