The National Hospital was established by act 36 of 1999 as a 200 bed National Hospital for women and Children (NHWC). Under the Presidency. It was originally designed to cater for the needs of women and children in Nigeria and the West African sub-region with a view to reducing morbidity and mortality rates, and to carry out extensive research into the peculiar causes of women and children-related diseases in Africa. However, in the year 2000 the name was changed to National Hospital with a mandate to cater for all and in 2011, it was transferred from the Presidency to the Federal Ministry of Health for supervision. The hospital expanded to 400bed and now renders specialist services in all areas of medicine.


The National Hospital Abuja is to serve as an apex Referral Hospital of Medical Care in the West African sub-region for the specialized care of patients; curative and promotive health, research and the implementation of a holistic medical education programme for sustainable national and regional development”.


“We are the flagship of the medical institution in Nigeria and endowed with Sophistication in men and materials.

Our corporate objective is to provide a friendly atmosphere for the care of all discerning patients without discrimination.

We serve with empathy for the sick and devotion for duty.

Our Services are prompt, courteous, comprehensive, efficient and effective

Our strength lies in the use of state-of-the-art technology in a clean, conducive and patient friendly environment, using highly skilled and motivated staff.”


  • Integrity
  • Diligence
  • Empathy
  • Excellence
  • Loyalty


The National Hospital, Abuja maintains Quality Management Systems and in terms of clinical Governance, structure process and patients’ outcome complies with the requirements of the National Health Act, 2014, or as may be amended, to ensure excellent medical care.


  • Hon. Olubunmi P. Etteh CFR – Chairperson
  • Prof Muhammad Raji Mahmud – Chief Medical Director
  • Mene A. Sunny
  • Dr Victor Amuta
  • Bakura Shettima
  • Isa Bawa Adamu
  • Dr Chris Osa Isokpunwu
  • Edward O. Ogirima, mni
  • Olufemi Ogunrinde
  • Oluwarotimi Ireti Akinola
  • Jumoke Smith
  • Elizabeth Egharevba
  • Dr Abba Badamasi Kankarofi – Director Clinical Services/CMAC
  • Olusegun Shokunbi – Ag Director Maintenance
  • Danjuma Hassan Maaruf – Director Finance and Accounts
  • Peter Egwakhide PhD. – Director Admin/ Board Secretary