The University College Hospital, (UCH) Ibadan was established in August 1952 by an Act of Parliament in response to the need for the training of medical personnel and other healthcare professionals for the country and the West African Sub-Region. The establishment of the Hospital followed a Visitation Panel in 1951 to assess the clinical facilities for the clinical postings of medical students registered for M.B.B.S. degree at the University of London. The visitation panel, led by Dr T.F. Hunt of the University of London, rejected the enhanced facilities provided by the Government/Native Authority Hospital at Adeoyo, Ibadan following the establishment of a Faculty of Medicine in the University College, Ibadan (now University of Ibadan) in 1948.

Commissioned by the former Honourable Minister of Health, Professor Eyitayo Lambo on 27 April 2006. The Hospital and the University of Ibadan, function in excellent symbiosis and it is impossible to think of one without the other, in the areas of health workforce training, research and clinical service. This functional interdependence was emphasized from inception through the appointment of the Chairman of the Provisional Council of the University College, (now University of Ibadan as the first chairman of the Board of Management of the University College Hospital, Ibadan.


  • Health Information Management
  • Medical Laboratory Science
  • School of Nursing and Midwifery
  • Occupational Health Nursing
  • Preoperative Nursing
  • Federally Funded Schools