University of Benin (UNIBEN) is a public research university located in Benin City, Edo State, Nigeria. It is among the universities owned by the Federal Government of Nigeria and was founded in 1970. The School currently has two campuses with fifteen faculties including a central library called the John Harris Library. The buildings in UNIBEN are sparsely built, they are not close to each other. UNIBEN has a teaching hospital called University of Benin Teaching Hospital (UBTH).

The University of Benin (UNIBEN) stands as one of Nigeria’s foremost institutions of higher learning, renowned for its commitment to academic excellence, research innovation, and community development. Situated in the vibrant city of Benin, in the southern part of Nigeria, UNIBEN has earned its place as a hub of intellectual and cultural diversity, attracting students from various parts of Nigeria and beyond.

Established in 1970, UNIBEN has evolved into a comprehensive university offering a wide range of undergraduate, postgraduate, and professional programs across diverse fields of study, including science, technology, engineering, arts, social sciences, management, and health sciences. Its academic curriculum is designed to provide students with a solid foundation of knowledge and skills necessary for success in their chosen careers and to equip them with the critical thinking abilities required to address complex global challenges.

The Institute achieved full University status in July, 1971 after its recognition by the National Universities Commission and became the University of Benin. The University of Benin has remained faithfully to its founding philosophy which is summed up in the motto “Knowledge for Service”.

UNIBEN boasts of a faculty comprised of experienced professors, researchers, and scholars who are dedicated to mentoring and guiding students towards academic excellence and personal growth. The university’s commitment to research and innovation is evident in its state-of-the-art laboratories, research centers, and partnerships with industry, government, and international organizations.

Beyond academics, UNIBEN offers a vibrant campus life enriched with a plethora of extracurricular activities, including sports, cultural events, student clubs, and community service initiatives. These activities provide students with opportunities to develop leadership skills, foster lifelong friendships, and contribute positively to society.

The university’s sprawling campus is equipped with modern facilities such as libraries, lecture halls, student hostels, recreational centers, and medical facilities to cater to the diverse needs of its students and staff. Additionally, UNIBEN’s commitment to sustainable development is reflected in its green initiatives and efforts to promote environmental conservation and awareness.

As a leading institution of higher learning in Nigeria, UNIBEN continues to uphold its mission of producing well-rounded graduates who are equipped to make meaningful contributions to their communities and to the world at large. With its rich history, academic excellence, and commitment to societal impact, the University of Benin remains a beacon of knowledge and opportunity for generations of students to come.

Objective of Uniben

The Objective of the University shall be to advance Knowledge, Wisdom and Understanding by teaching and research with the ultimate purpose of service to the community.

Our Vision

To establish a model Institution of Higher learning which ranks among the best in the world and responsive to the creative and Innovative abilities of the Nigerian people.

Our Mission

To develop the Human mind to be creative, Innovative, competent in areas of specialization, Knowledgeable in Entrepreneur and dedicated to service.

List of faculties and some of the courses they offer

Faculty of Agriculture

  • Agronomy
  • Agricultural Economics
  • Animal Science
  • Fisheries
  • Soil Science
  • Crop Science

Faculty of Arts

  • English Language and Literature
  • History
  • Linguistics and African Languages
  • Philosophy
  • Theatre Arts
  • Religious Studies

Faculty of Education

  • Adult Education
  • Educational Management
  • Educational Foundations
  • Health, Safety & Environmental Education
  • Human Kinetics
  • Vocational and Technical Education

Faculty of Engineering

  • Chemical Engineering
  • Civil Engineering
  • Computer Engineering
  • Electrical/Electronic Engineering
  • Mechanical Engineering
  • Petroleum Engineering

Faculty of Law

  • Commercial Law
  • Criminal Law
  • Jurisprudence and International Law
  • Property Law
  • Public Law

Faculty of Life Sciences

  • Biochemistry
  • Botany
  • Microbiology
  • Animal and Environmental Biology
  • Plant Science and Biotechnology
  • Human Biology

Faculty of Management Sciences

  • Accounting
  • Banking and Finance
  • Business Administration
  • Insurance
  • Marketing
  • Industrial Relations and Personnel Management

Faculty of Pharmacy

  • Pharmacology and Toxicology
  • Pharmaceutical Chemistry
  • Pharmaceutics and Pharmaceutical Technology
  • Clinical Pharmacy and Pharmacy Practice
  • Pharmacognosy and Environmental Medicines
  • Pharmaceutical Microbiology

Faculty of Physical Sciences

  • Chemistry
  • Computer Science
  • Geology
  • Mathematics
  • Physics
  • Industrial Physics

Faculty of Social Sciences

  • Economics
  • Geography and Regional Planning
  • Political Science and Public Administration
  • Sociology and Anthropology
  • Social Work
  • Library and Information Science

Faculty of Basic Medical Sciences

  • Anatomy
  • Medical Biochemistry
  • Medical Laboratory Science
  • Physiology

Faculty of Medicine

  • Medicine and Surgery

This list provides an overview of the diverse academic offerings at the University of Benin, catering to a wide range of interests and career aspirations.