The University of Port Harcourt is located in Choba in Port Harcourt, Rivers State; it is located in Niger-Delta region of Nigeria. It was established in 1975 as University College, Port Harcourt, and was given university status in 1977. The University of Port Harcourt was ranked the sixth in Africa and the first in Nigeria by Times Higher Education in 2015. In July 2021, Prof. George Owunari was appointed substantive Vice-Chancellor of the university.


The University of Port Harcourt aims to be ranked amongst the best universities in Africa, renowned for its teaching, research, creativity, and innovation.


The Mission of the University of Port Harcourt is the pursuit of academic excellence, advancement of knowledge, and community service through quality teaching, life-long learning, social inclusion, strengthening civil society and policy-relevant research that addresses the challenges of contemporary society. To achieve this Mission, the university is guided by the spirit of enquiry, self-reliance, fairness, and ethical and professional standards of the disciplines.


The Philosophy of the University of Port Harcourt is a commitment to academic freedom, tolerance, probity, equal opportunity, and respect for cultural diversity.

School and faculties

The university originally had six schools in 1977
• School of Humanities
• School of Social Sciences
• School of Biological Sciences
• School of Chemical Sciences
• School of Physical Sciences
• School of Educational Studies
• School of Science Laboratory Technology (SSLT)
• Faculty of Humanities
• Faculty of Social Sciences
• Faculty of Education
• Faculty of Engineering
• Faculty of Management Sciences
• College of Health Sciences
• Faculty of Basic Medical Sciences
• Faaculty of Science
• Faculty of Dentistry
• Faculty of Computing
• Faculty of Clinical Science
• Faculty of Agriculture
• Faculty of Pharmaceutical Sciences
• Social Science and Humanities Library, University of Port HarcourtFaculty of Law
• College of Continuing Education